The two sides of “story-telling”

Posted: May 23, 2011 in random thoughts
Tags: , , ,

As humans, we do like to talk and have someone listen to us. We are not given a mouth and an ear for nothing, right? Aside from talking about ourselves with our friends, we also talk about others. Movies/books/poetries were a higher form of story-telling and we love those things but for this entry, I’m pinpointing on the common form of telling stories with your friends.

I think it would be a good thing to access ourselves in these moments. Sadly, the most common side is that of a “gossip” – an idle talk about someone. There’s even a million dollar profit for gossips, it’s not confined to your circle of friends anymore, you can even make money out of it through magazines, internets and televisions (urgh, what happened to us really?) Ok so let us go back to the circle of friends for me to better say my point. Idle talk is one that does not do the person whom you talked about any good. You tell your friends about them in a way that destroys that person’s image. The sad thing is when your friends will be trapped into thinking on the bad things you have said without even actually knowing that person. This kind of talk is something that we should avoid doing because it is “IDLE”, useless! Would you feel better if you blabber on how that person made you feel miserable? how that person is screwing things up? Do you feel a sense of satisfaction when you get approval from your friends from the things you say? It saddens me to realize that I have sometimes succumbed to idle talks when I feel angry then wanted to vent it out on someone and more so affirm others when they would tell me bad things about a person. It saddens me because I should have known better, and for that I am truly sorry.

The second side of it, which I am really hoping we should be doing more often, is sharing that person’s story to someone else in a way of building up that person. If you have actually devoted your time to think about that person and more so gave more time by telling it to your friend, which eventually devotes his/her time too, then you must have at least do so in the manner that you ACTUALLY CARE FOR THAT PERSON’S WELL-BEING. When you are about to tell a story, ask yourself, what is my motive of telling this story? Would it be for my friend to know what I am going through and how this certain person being talked about is affecting the way I live in the hope that my friend can also provide me insights that might help in restoring our relationship? Moreover, for my friend to pray for us? BUT if your purpose is just to bash the person so you would appear to be the protagonist and he/she the antagonist who makes your life miserable, then better consider making a script out of it since a conversation about it will not do you any good.

So friends, may we live to share our life stories in the hope that others may either learn from it, that it may be able to contribute in deepening relationships and building up hopes for restorations, and for people to be lifted.

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:29 (NIV)

Comments
  1. 2 sides of story-telling..the truth and the lie..

Leave a Reply

