My New Reality

Posted: May 11, 2011 in FAITH
Tags: , , , ,

My 10 months in Thailand proved to be more than just learning and sharing in terms of  my work and personal growth. As I’m going through the last few months of my posting, I realized that it was also a spiritual journey that made me see a new reality and live that reality.

At the start of my posting, I was so pumped up from our FK prep course. My battle cry is “CHANGE” be an agent of it. But as my posting here progressed, that drive slowly went downhill since the change that I hoped I can contribute were not going on a pace that I envisioned it to be. I was disappointed but I continued on and went even as far as planning on the things that I will do when I go back to the Philippines. I scribbled on my notebook about my plans. I was hyped again from envisioning ways on how I can affect change in the society.

Little did I know that I was going into dangerous grounds. I was blinded by the things that I already did and what I can still do. I prided myself with my accomplishments. I celebrate when people tell me how pleased they are with what I have accomplished. I was ecstatic when people approved my ideas.

Given with much time to reflect, I eventually saw the lies. It was a humbling experience and a liberating one to strip myself off from those lies and accepted the truth that my life is NOT about me and what I have done. My life is about who Jesus Christ is and what He has done for me through the way of the cross. This is my new reality. It even redefined my view of success – success that is not based on finances, positions, or other measures that Forbes Magazine would use to measure the wealthiest people in the world. A journey with Christ is wealth in itself.

Therefore, I do not seek approval from others because God already approved me through Christ. I do not pride myself with what I can do but rather on what Jesus Christ can do through me. I am not here to please others but (in the words of CS Lewis) please the One whom I am created to please – and what would please Him is following His commands of loving God above all and love others as I love myself. Loving others in this new reality has taken me into a new level of trying to see God’s image in them despite our differences – which really stretched my understanding and patience (but I still pray for more understanding and patience!). Truly, I could not have done it by myself but by the grace of Jesus, I now can!

And whatever you do or say, do it as a representative of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through him to God the Father. ~ Colossians 3:17 NLT

I represent! 🙂

I now leave you with this song… definitely, there is a new way to be human!

Comments
  1. karl says:

    and with just that realization frend you have effected change in an area where change is most powerful – yourself, your mind views… muah!

  2. chajedidiah says:

    Yes, friend. Change should be from the inside out 🙂

  3. jarner says:

    hey chalet! a beautiful realization, i love your new reality :)) im also trying to see that my life is about other people, not me. its humbling when we begin to see this…. kanpai!

Leave a Reply

