We Are Sisters

Posted: March 22, 2011 in love, Personal Projects
Tags: , ,

KICK! SCRATCH! PUNCH! CRY! PINCH! GRAB THE HAIR!

This was a typical thing that my sister and I did when we were younger. Since we share the same room and the same bed, we were very “close” to do these things. Our parents’ room was beside ours so they could hear us fighting each other over petty things. We have 3 older brothers and my sister is 4 years older than me – we should had been the best playmates but we weren’t.

Those were the days and the HAIR! Manang Chatty, Mamocka and Me.

As we grew older, we also grew tired from the fighting and found a thing that we both liked doing – our “pocketbook” adventures. I say adventures because our Mom wouldn’t allow us to read romance pocketbooks plus considering most of them were in Tagalog (yaaaay! busted!). We spent some of our allowance in borrowing pocketbooks from Bon Ami or if we were lucky, borrow some from Manang Kammen, the wife of our cousin, for free! We would read it either with our back facing each other or we were on the opposite ends of the bed. Our mom would shout from the other room that we should stop reading because she can still see the lights were on and it was already midnight. So sometimes we would resort to using flashlights or “gasera” (haha thanks to our Papang who made it for us). We were both cry-babies so we had a roll of tissue in between us while reading – with matching blowing our noses scenes.

Then my sister went to University of Sto. Tomas for college, giving us the necessary distance that ended our fights. I eventually missed her and would always asked Mom to bring me during their visits in UST. I remembered the day when she toured me in her school. It was beautiful! The students look cool in their white uniforms, there were trees and lots of benches, it was just peaceful for me sitting there watching the students walk and chatter in between periods. The church inside the school was also amazing especially when the choir started singing, filling the atmosphere with their angelic voices. I told myself, I will also go to this school just like Manang. Well, I eventually chose another school.

The sisters finally doing some bonding time aside from pocketbooks and the fighting. 😛

She went home during sem breaks, and I specifically remember that she would always cooked “kalabasa” or the pumpkin dish typical in the Philippines. My brothers and I would joke her about it – she had an excuse though that it was the only thing available in the kitchen (ahuh?) Between the two of us, she’s the more responsible type. Well, she cleaned the house, cooked, washed the dishes, and was way more organized with her things. She’s older so she should be (ahuh, this was my excuse). Mom, won a La Germania stove with matching oven during their office’s Christmas Party. So aside from the Pumpkin dish, she then baked banana cakes (always during sembreaks!) – again saying due to the availability of materials in the kitchen (but I think the reason behind was that it was so easy to do hahaha).  Now that she was married, she can cook a wide variety of dishes – to name a few: wicked pasta dishes and the sinigang!!! Oh the pork Sinigang! She never failed to cook something whenever I visit them in Taguig – so this goes without saying my expectations when I go back home ;).

The Morales Family. Ate Chatty and Kuya Dante with their pretty girls: Yza and Mikmik.

I see her as a strong woman who found the very thing that she will fight for – her family. She is doing a pretty good job being a wife and a mom to two beautiful girls. Despite the responsibilities that she had to share with Kuya Dante, she still is as funny as ever. My GMP friends and I agree that she was funnier that I am. She was also dubbed as “Kapitana” (Female Captain) at work because she can both make people listen to her or read her emails whether they were serious or just corny jokes. Just like me, she still has a kid’s heart because she happily beamed while sharing to me how she won a Quiz Bee contest at work, getting all those exciting goodies, or just finding a good pocketbook . She also never failed to think of kiddie games for family events.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MANANG!!! I LOVE YOU!

I miss you Manang and I am looking forward for your visit here with pretty Yza! May God strengthen you always! AJA AJA! Maligayang Kaarawan Kapitana!

***MANANG is an Ilocano word that means ATE or OLDER SISTER. MANONG is used for guys. Thanks to soap operas for using it to call their paid help (inserting sarcasm here just in case you didn’t get that), now those two words were commonly used at such BUT I still use MANONG and MANANG to call my older brothers and sister because those words have a closer meaning to me.

Comments
  1. Ivey says:

    Nice writing. Your sister looks just like you, Cha!:)

  2. garnor says:

    what a fun and great bond cha, esp the pocketbook days 😀 youre so pretty together!

Leave a Reply

