Half-hearted Creatures

Posted: March 18, 2011 in FAITH
Tags: ,

We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. WE ARE FAR TOO EASILY PLEASED (by C.S. Lewis)… BUT we are not easily satisfied (eerr by Cha).

I feel I’m committing a literary sin just by adding those words on CS Lewis’ thoughts. Reading his works made me see a man who has understood and gained wisdom about God. I, a mere reader and fan of his works, is just inching her way to comprehend The Maker’s sovereignty, moreover, a reader who doesn’t have any literary works to be worthy of any critics’ attention. A reader who might be even thrown with questionable looks by Lewis’ fanatics. haha.

Shameful as I was, I will stick to it. CS Lewis’ Weight of Glory took me days to finish considering that it was just 9 pages. That fact alone is an evidence how far his thoughts were from mine… how deep they were and how shallow mine is. Each paragraph  made me stop because much internalization is needed. Deep breaths were also needed for me to go on. And now that I re-read it again, one of the many (as in lots of great conversational pieces) things that I have come to agree with Lolo Lewis (I used to call him Pare but when I read Kuya Aleks Tan said Lolo, I realized that was just apt to use since it also connotes an image of a wise man) that we really are half-hearted creatures far too easily pleased. As I read on his thoughts of heaven and our longing for it, that was when I, apologetically, added BUT we are not easily satisfied.

It made me understand more the reality why we, humans, continuously want things in our lives. Why what we have now is never enough for us. We always want want want. We became creatures driven by our wants and our pursuit of it. But then we are wrong, we misunderstood want from LONGING. If we dig deeper, we can see at the bottom of it our longing for “something”. Something beyond what this world offers. We will never be satisfied with the things that we get from this world. We will never be satisfied and we will never stop longing because the main thing that we long for is not of this world. We will only be satisfied if we accept that which can truly satisfies. We will be satisfied on the day when the One who offers us LIVING WATER comes to fully satisfy our thirst and longing.

“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world“. ~ C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

When human souls have become as perfect in voluntary obedience as the inanimate creation is in its lifeless obedience, then they will put on its glory, or rather that greater glory of which Nature is only the first sketch. For you must not think that I am putting forward any heathen fancy of being absorbed into Nature. Nature is mortal; we shall outlive her. When all the suns and nebulae have passed away, each one of you will still be alive. Nature is only the image, the symbol; but it is the symbol Scripture invites me to use. We are summoned to pass in through Nature, beyond her, into that splendour which she fitfully reflects. ~ C.S. Lewis

Comments
  1. aleks says:

    “We are far too easily pleased” but find no satisfaction because, now employing the words of St. Augustine of Hippo, “You have made us for Yourself, and our hearts are restless until they rest in You.” (not sure though if I got that verbatim) 🙂

    • chajedidiah says:

      Thanks Kuya Aleks! BUT find no satisfaction is great!

      I agree that we will be restless until we rest in Him – I used the term The Maker and would like to expound on it but that would have made my thoughts more messy. My thoughts can go haywire when I write haha.

      Oh, Im sure you guys will have a blast discussing this work of Lolo Lewis on your next BS!

      • sey says:

        Chalet, send me a copy of Weight of Glory please. =)
        This blog really stirred something deep inside.. Nakakamiss si “Lolo” Lewis..

      • chajedidiah says:

        I emailed you the copy, already 🙂 oh Sey! enjoooy feel free to drop me an email if you want to share your thoughts, too. I miss our discussions. hugs!

  2. KC says:

    ang ganah ng pic frend! heart much! muah

  3. idanoelle says:

    oooh this has piqued my curiosity! i’m a big fan of CS LEWIS too! thanks to you for lending me a copy of screwtape letters. i just downloaded a copy of weight of glory and im ready to be blown away 😛

Leave a Reply

