My Lovers’ Quarrel with Ko Phi Phi

Posted: December 20, 2010 in travel
Tags: , , , ,

December 6, 2010

After my morning walk along Patong Beach, I went back to the hotel to get ready for our next destination, Ko Phi Phi.

Ko is the thai word for Island. The Phi Phi Islands are part of Krabi Province and are located in between Phuket and the mainland. Ko Phi Phi Don is where we booked our hotel since it’s the only inhabited Island in the group. Ko Phi Phi Lee on the other hand is where the famous movie The Beach, starring Leonardo Di Caprio, was filmed.

I had a great time in Phuket and Phang Nga so I was full of energy and excitement for better things to come when we were on our way to Ko Phi Phi Don.

Trust me when I say that these are the prime seats - not the air conditioned seats inside.

It was around noon when we arrived. My heart skipped with gladness at the sight at Ko Phi Phi. I eagerly got my bags and walked out of the ferry. But my eager expectations were dampened as I saw narrow roads with so many stalls on both side.

Ko Phi Phi is not that big so the streets are narrow and you can only go around by walking or biking.

The porter from our hotel got our bags and we started walking. We kept on walking for a good 10minutes and I started wondering where the hell was our hotel located??? I thought it was near the beach area but it wasn’t. Instead, it was near a dump site! We passed by a stinky dumpsite which really made my nose cringe. Now, all I want was to take a rest when we arrived at Phi Phi Chang Grand Resort. But there was nothing grand about the place! So I didn’t bother to take photos of it. Good thing they have free wi-fi in the “lobby” cum “dining area”.

I was starting to thank the fact that I only have to stay over night in this place since I need to go to go back earlier than the rest of the guys.

We had our late lunch then checked out the beach. It was low tide so the waters were shallow.

It was a long walk towards the sea but the feeling of damp sand in my feet was very soothing.

After a while, I went back to the beach, laid my sarong and sat down. I stared at the beautiful view in front of me as I slowly emptied my mind from the negativities I felt on my first meeting with Ko Phi Phi. That was when I started to feel much better about the place.

A long tail boat docked in the shores of Ko Phi Phi.

My companions decided to go to the viewpoint, the highest area in the Island where you can see the whole view of the place. I went with them not expecting much on what I will see. The hike up the viewpoint was very tiring. Ivey and I would take a rest from time to time before climbing up again. By the time we were there, we were panting like crazy… But the view left me breathless!

Stunning Ko Phi Phi Don during the low tide in a late afternoon.

The left side is the port area and where most of the stores are located.

The ride side is the beach area where most of the tourists hang out.

I sat on top of a rock and feasted my eyes on the beauty that was in front of me. The cool afternoon breeze blew the remaining negative thoughts and experiences that I had in this place.

Koh Phi Phi reminded me why I love traveling. It reminded me how a place can surprise me beyond my expectations; how a place captures me with its people, food and culture; how a place gives me an authentic experience even if things are going bad; how a place gives me a lasting memory which I value like a treasure and most especially how a place makes me grateful to be alive and see the intricacies and beauty of God’s creations.

***

Too bad I was not able to see how Koh Phi Phi looks like in the early morning. I bet it looks more stunning than the photos above since crystal blue waters will fill the beach. It gives me good reasons though to go back to this place – to discover more on what this place has to offer and uncover the surprises it brings.

P.S. I am not a good photographer nor do I use a super high-tech cam. So the photos don’t give justice about the place. You better see Ko Phi Phi with your own eyes. 🙂

Comments
  1. rubayeet says:

    Nice write up! To me the hike up the View Point was the most exciting activity while we were at Phi Phi, other than kayaking deep into the Loh Dalum bay there.

  2. chajedidiah says:

    I agree with you, the view was just breathtaking 🙂 I really want to go back since I didn’t get to see much of the place.

  3. garnor says:

    top notch tourism guide! youve given me a whole lot better perspective of thailand. thanks chalet. keep exploring. i know you will. and thanks for sharing 😀

  4. Dylan says:

    “The first condition of understanding a foreign country is to smell it.” – Rudyard Kipling

    Keep on smelling! hehehe
    este… Keep on traveling!

Leave a Reply

