Touchdown: Phuket

Posted: December 13, 2010 in travel
Tags: , , , ,

November 29, 2010

A sudden offer to go to Phuket and Phi Phi from my Bangladeshi friend, Ivey Rashid, made me not to think twice. I was excited to go to work last Monday to ask permission from P’Kruewan (my supervisor) only to find out that she’s in Cambodia for the FK Sub-Regional meeting. I asked one of my colleagues to please tell P’Kruewan to go online. When she did, I asked her if I can go to Phuket and PhiPhi on Friday, she said YES but I need to email her a letter about it. After sending her the letter, I immediately went to P’Nong (one of my close friend at work) asked her if I can use her credit card to book a flight to Phuket. She said YES and there I was, checking the cheapest air tickets considering that I only have 4 days in between the booking and the flight. I love Airasia for this because I was able to book for a considerably cheap roundtrip ticket for only 4,248 baht (around Php6,000).

December 3, 2010

My flight was earlier than Ivey’s flight so when I saw on the monitors that their plane arrived Phuket International Aiport, I started looking for 5 girls with long hair and wearing long sleeves. I saw Ivey first then 4 guys behind her. We laughed when i told her that I was expecting girls. Our group is a quirky bunch: all of them are Software Engineers, I’m a tourism grad, 4 are Muslims, 1 Hindu and I’m a Christian, so 4 does not eat pork, one does not eat beef and I can of course eat anything! 🙂

After settling with two cabs, we were on our way to Patong Beach, the most famous beach area in Phuket. On the way, our cab drivers told us that we’ll drop by in his office so that we can check day tours and other activities. At the office, we were able to book the James Bond whole-day tour for the next day and also boat tickets with airport transfers for Phi Phi Island on December 6. We decided to book the other tours when we get to Patong Beach.

After booking, we went to check the Jungle Bungy Jump.

Ivey and Zub bungy jumping from a 50 meters high platform placed over clear waters

The two didn’t even scream when they did the jump!!! Why Ivey??? It looks more fun if you screamed (good thing Ruba created a fake scream while filming your jump :D).

After that, the boys tried the Patong Gokart Speedway.

Ruba and Ari heating up the speedway.

We haven’t checked in yet and didn’t even see the beach (which is why people really come to Phuket) but our group spent a lot already with the activities! These guys really saved up for this trip :). Finally, when everyone felt hungry and tired, we decided to go straight to our hotel, Deevana Patong Resort and Spa.

The folded Elephant towel was a cute way to greet us 🙂

After freshening up and eating our late lunch, we went for a walk at Patong Beach.

I bet you can guess which one if my feet 🙂 Aabir's feet is not here because he was busy taking photos of the place.

Aabir likes taking Landscape Photography. He doesn't like it when we include him in the photos so i just took snapshots of him during the trip.

The beach area was a bit crowded, so I took a mental note to wake up early and take a morning walk for me to better enjoy the place.

More posts to come.

Comments
  1. Ivey Rashid says:

    Ok ok… I am sorry watching our jump was not fun for you guys but it was for us!;)

  2. Len says:

    Nice one cha! 😀

    • chajedidiah says:

      Thanks Len! Read my next post and join the contest 🙂

      • Benj Roa says:

        Cha!! this was one of the rewards in Survivor Phils (Celeb Edition).. you should have jumped off the bungy!!!! wahh!!!! definitely a must in my Bucket List!! 🙂

      • chajedidiah says:

        hahaha… Bungy jumping is in my bucket list, too. But I’ll just do it once so I’m saving it for a better view. I’m thinking the one in Singapore or in New Zealand (shocks! mahal ang New Zealand save save save)

  3. rubayeet says:

    Awesome post Cha! Looking forward to more.

Leave a Reply

